Skip to Main Content

The Joyce and Henry Schwob School of Music

Faculty by Instrument/Discipline

Administration

Dr. Edwin Harris

Dr. Scott Harris

Position: Director / Associate Professor
Office: RiverCenter 1604
Phone: 706-507-8419
E-mail: harris_scott@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lisa Oberlander

Dr. Lisa Oberlander

Position: Assistant Director / Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2711
Phone: 706-649-7265
E-mail: oberlander_lisa@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Clarinet
Personal Website     Bio

Ensemble Directors

Mr. Paul Hostetter

Mr. Paul Hostetter

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 1913
Phone: 706-649-7238
E-mail: hostetter_paul@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Ensemble Director - Orchestral Activities
Personal Website     Bio

Dr. Ianthe Marini

Dr. Ianthe Marini

Position: Director of Choral Activities | Assistant Professor of Music
Endowed Title: The Paul S. and Jean R. Amos Distinguished Chair for Choral Activities
Office: RiverCenter 1916
Phone: 706-649-7371
E-mail: marini_ianthe@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Director of Choral Activities
Personal Website     Bio

Dr. Joshua May

Dr. Joshua May

Position: Assistant Professor and Director of Opera Activities
Office: RiverCenter 2601
Phone: 706-649-0878
E-mail: may_joshua3@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Vocal, Director of Opera
Personal Website     Bio

Dr. Jamie Nix

Dr. Jamie Nix

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 1915
Phone: 706-649-7252
E-mail: nix_jamie@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Ensemble Director - Wind Ensemble Activities
Bio

Studio Faculty

Brass

Dr. John Avila

Dr. Alex Avila

Position: Lecturer
Office: RiverCenter 2608
Phone: 706-641-5259
E-mail: avila_john@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Brass - Tuba and Euphonium
Bio

Dr. Anne Cherry

Dr. Anne-Marie Cherry

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2708
Phone: 706-649-7291
E-mail: cherry_anne@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Brass - Horn
Bio

Dr. Robert Murray

Dr. Robert Murray

Position: Associate Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2715
Phone: 706-649-7276
E-mail: murray_robert3@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Brass - Trumpet
Bio

Dr. Bradley Palmer

Dr. Bradley Palmer

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2713
Phone: 706-649-7350
E-mail: palmer_bradley@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Brass - Trombone; Music Technology
Bio

Keyboard Studies

 Sam Brown

Sam Brown

Position: Part-Time Faculty
Office: RiverCenter 2704
Phone: 706-341-3587
E-mail: brown_sam@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Keyboard Studies
Personal Website     Bio

Dr. Henry Kramer

Dr. Henry Kramer

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter
E-mail: kramer_henry@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Keyboard
Bio

Percussion

Dr. Paul Vaillancourt

Dr. Paul Vaillancourt

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2702
Phone: 706-649-1235
E-mail: vaillancourt_paul@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Percussion
Bio

Strings

Mr. Boris Abramov

Mr. Boris Abramov

Position: Limited Term Lecturer
Office: RiverCenter 2705
Phone: 706-649-7225
E-mail: abramov_boris@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Violin
Bio

Ms. Susan Brady

Ms. Susan Brady

Position: Part - Time Faculty
Office: RiverCenter 2611
Phone: 706-649-7225
E-mail: brady_susan@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Harp
Bio

Dr. Katrin Meidell

Dr. Katrin Meidell

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2602
Phone: 706-649-7364
E-mail: meidell_katrin@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Viola
Bio

Mr. Sergiu Schwartz

Mr. Sergiu Schwartz

Position: Professor
Endowed Title: The William B. and Sue Marie Turner Distinguished Faculty Chair in Violin
Office: RiverCenter 2716
Phone: 706-649-7279
E-mail: schwartz_sergiu@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Violin
Bio

Ms. Wendy Warner

Ms. Wendy Warner

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2710
Phone: 706-649-7269
E-mail: warner_wendy@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Cello
Personal Website     Bio

Mr. Ben Weatherford

Mr. Ben Weatherford

Position: Part - Time Faculty
Office: RiverCenter 1600
Phone: 706-649-7225
E-mail: weatherford_ben@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Jazz Guitar
Bio

Dr. Patricia Weitzel

Dr. Patricia Weitzel

Position: Lecturer
Office: RiverCenter 2609
Phone: 706-649-1157
E-mail: weitzel_patricia@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Double Bass
Bio

Dr. Andrew Zohn

Dr. Andrew Zohn

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2708
Phone: 706-649-7295
E-mail: zohn_andrew@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Strings - Guitar
Bio

Vocal

 Debra Anderson

Debbie Anderson

Position: Part-time Faculty
Office: RiverCenter 2608
Phone: 706-641-5259
E-mail: anderson_debra12@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Vocal
Bio

Mr. Clarence Coleman

Mr. Earl Coleman

Position: Interim Dean
Endowed Title: The William and Isabelle Curry Eminent Faculty Chair in Voice
Office: RiverCenter 2615
Phone: 706-507-8045
E-mail: coleman_clarence@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Vocal
Bio

Dr. Michelle Debruyn

Dr. Michelle Debruyn

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2609
Phone: 706-649-1157
E-mail: debruyn_michelle@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Vocal
Bio

Dr. Joshua May

Dr. Joshua May

Position: Assistant Professor and Director of Opera Activities
Office: RiverCenter 2601
Phone: 706-649-0878
E-mail: may_joshua3@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Vocal, Director of Opera
Personal Website     Bio

Woodwinds

Dr. Joseph Girard

Dr. Joseph Girard

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2912
Phone: 706-649-7288
E-mail: girard_joseph@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Saxophone
Bio

Dr. Andree Martin

Dr. Andree Martin

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2614
Phone: 706-649-7361
E-mail: martin_andree@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Flute; Music History and Literature
Bio

Dr. Lisa Oberlander

Dr. Lisa Oberlander

Position: Assistant Director / Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2711
Phone: 706-649-7265
E-mail: oberlander_lisa@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Clarinet
Personal Website     Bio

Dr. Stephanie Patterson

Dr. Stephanie Patterson

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2707
Phone: 706-649-7267
E-mail: patterson_stephanie1@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Bassoon
Personal Website     Bio

Dr. Susan Tomkiewicz

Dr. Susan Tomkiewicz

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2717
Phone: 706-649-7298
E-mail: tomkiewicz_susan@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Oboe
Personal Website     Bio

Music Education

Dr. Michelle Folta

Dr. Michelle Folta

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 1917
Phone: 706-649-7243
E-mail: folta_michelle@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music Education - Choral
Bio

Collaborative Pianists

Mrs. Janie Bullock

Mrs. Janie Bullock

Position: Staff Pianist
Office: RiverCenter
Phone: 706-641-4109
E-mail: bullock_janielee@columbusstate.edu
Bio

Ms. Susan Hoskins

Ms. Susan Hoskins

Position: Accompanist
Office: RiverCenter 2701
Phone: 706-649-1913
E-mail: hoskins_susan@columbusstate.edu
Bio

Dr. Aesook Moon

Dr. Aesook Moon

Position: Staff Pianist
Office: RiverCenter 2703
Phone: 706-649-7225
E-mail: moon_aesook@columbusstate.edu
Bio

 Rachel Zimmerman

Rachel Zimmerman

Position: Staff Pianist
Office: RiverCenter 2603
Phone: 706-649-7225
E-mail: zimmerman_rachel@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Collaborative Pianist
Bio

Music Theory & Composition

Dr. Marc Boensel

Dr. Marc Boensel

Office: RiverCenter
E-mail: boensel_marc@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music Theory

Mr. Tao Ge

Mr. Tao Ge

Position: Concert & Facilities Coordinator
Office: RiverCenter 1611
Phone: 706-649-1986
E-mail: ge_tao@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music Theory
Bio

Mr. Joseph Golden

Mr. Joseph Golden

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2714
Phone: 706-649-7246
E-mail: golden_joseph@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Organ, Harpischord, Music History, and Music Theory
Bio

Dr. Kristen Hansen

Dr. Kristen Hansen

Position: Senior Lecturer
Office: RiverCenter 1708
Phone: 706-649-7271
E-mail: hansen_kristen@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music Theory
Bio

Dr. James Ogburn

Dr. James Ogburn

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2706
Phone: 706-649-7244
E-mail: ogburn_james@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music Theory and Composition
Bio

Music History & Literature

Mr. Joseph Golden

Mr. Joseph Golden

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2714
Phone: 706-649-7246
E-mail: golden_joseph@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Organ, Harpischord, Music History, and Music Theory
Bio

Dr. Andree Martin

Dr. Andree Martin

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2614
Phone: 706-649-7361
E-mail: martin_andree@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Woodwinds - Flute; Music History and Literature
Bio

Dr. Tushaar Power

Dr. Tushaar Power

Position: Part-Time Faculty
Office: RiverCenter 1610
Phone: 706-649-1062
E-mail: power_tushaar@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music History
Bio

Dr. Reba Wissner

Dr. Reba Wissner

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Unknown
E-mail: wissner_reba@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Musicology
Bio

Music Technology

Dr. Matthew McCabe

Dr. Matthew McCabe

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2606
Phone: 706-649-1900
E-mail: mccabe_matthew@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Music Technology
Bio

Dr. Bradley Palmer

Dr. Bradley Palmer

Position: Professor
Office: RiverCenter 2713
Phone: 706-649-7350
E-mail: palmer_bradley@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Brass - Trombone; Music Technology
Bio

Emeriti Faculty
Faculty By Name