Skip to Main Content

See our latest COVID-19 updates.

The Joyce and Henry Schwob School of Music

Wind Ensemble

Conductor: Dr. Jamie Nix

Woodwind Ensemble

The area of Wind Ensemble Activities at Columbus State University is directed by Dr. Jamie L. Nix, The Hal J. Gibson Distinguished Chair in Conducting. This area includes the Columbus State University's Schwob Wind Ensemble, Schwob Wind Orchestra, and the Graduate Wind Band Conducting program. The nationally-acclaimed Schwob Wind Ensemble is comprised of the top music majors at the Schwob School of Music and perform chamber and large ensemble repertoire spanning 500 years. Through collaborations with world-class performing artists and the performance of new works by highly regarded composers, the Schwob Wind Ensemble has distinguished itself as a leader among university ensembles. Recent performances include the 2018 GMEA In-Service Conference, 2015 CBDNA National Conference, the 2012 CBDNA/NBA Southern Division Conference, the 2012 GMEA Conference, and a 2019 collaboration with the Atlanta Youth Wind Symphony. Guest soloists have included artists Joseph Alessi, George Curran, Esteli Gomez, Timothy Jones, Lindsay Kesselman, Chris Martin, Hilá Plitmann, the Donald Sinta Quartet, Phil Smith, the Up/Down Percussion Quartet, Charles Vernon, John Bruce Yeh, and many others. Through the Annual Conductors Workshop, the ensembles have hosted conductors Frank Battisti, Scott Boerma, Robert Carnochan, Eugene Corporon, Paula Crider, Steven Davis, Frederick Fennell, Col. Hal Gibson, Gary Green, Donald Hunsberger, Jerry Junkin, James Keene, Craig Kirchhoff, Allan McMurray, H. Robert Reynolds, Mark Scatterday, Kevin Sedatole, Mallory Thompson, and Damon Talley. The Schwob Wind Ensemble has been active in the commissioning of recent new works, including Zhou Long's Ancient Echoes: Concerto for Wind Ensemble, Omar Thomas's Come Sunday, Stephen Goss's A Concerto of Colours for Guitar and Chamber Winds, Robert Beaser's song cycle The End of Knowing, John Mackey's Fanfare for Full Fathom Five, Roger Zare's Mare Tranquilitatis, Paul Dooley's Point Blank, Nico Muhly's Reliable Sources, Michael Daugherty's Songs from a Silent Land, Mason Bates' Sea Blue Circuitry, and Carter Pann's Symphony for Winds.


Commercial recordings of the Schwob Wind Ensemble are available through the school or through major online providers and music services.

  • Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs
  • Released 2017, Summit Records
  • Recorded 2011–2014

  • Wind Legacy
  • Released November 2003, Summit Recordings
  • Recorded 2001–02

  • Journey
  • Released June 2004, Summit Recordings
  • Recorded 2002–03

  • Velocity
  • Released November 2005, Summit Recordings
  • Recorded 2003–04

  • Electric Dawn
  • Released April 2006, Summit Recordings
  • Recorded 2004–05

  • Visions (featuring Joseph Alessi)
  • Released January 2008, Summit Recordings
  • Recorded 2006

  • Synergy (featuring John Bruce Yeh)
  • Released November 2009, Naxos Recordings
  • Recorded 2007